The Problem Solver

Contact Info

Thomas Simko
619-857-5439
thomsimko@yahoo.com

Licence #456951
Established 1976

San Diego Office:
1911 Mt. Acmar Ct.
San Diego, CA 92111
619-857-5439

Now serving Alpine, CA!

Arizona Office:
8870 E Avenida Las Noches
Gold Canyon, AZ 85118
480-671-1745

Visit us on Facebook!

Professional Craftsmanship & Home Improvement Repairs

The team showed up as scheduled, performed a site survey and had a complete list of materials to me within 24 hours. The work started immediately and they had the demo of both bathrooms complete by the second day. The bath tub was removed and replaced by a prefab bathtub insert and all new fixtures. The sinks and vanities were replaced, flooring and all repairs were completed within 7 days. The quality is outstanding. I have received a lot of compliments regarding this work and all previous work they have performed.

I have used Thomas Simko and his team repeatedly over the last 5 years and will continue to use them whenever I need work to be done.

— Alexander Paquet, January 2016


I called Thomas after a major storm and noticed water seeped in from an exterior wall into my living room (under my new bamboo floors). Thomas called me back within one hour which was amazing because I know contractors were busy fielding storm damage calls. I explained my problem (in a panic) and he told me he would have someone come out immediately and not to worry. Dave and his helper came out the next day and dug down one foot next to the exterior wall, added a moisture barrier and poured a 4 inch concrete seam between the wall and the dirt. The work was outstanding and I cannot say enough good things about this company. I will definitely use them again in the future.

— Therese Wunderlich, January 2016


I live in Virginia, and I had just had a new tenant move in to a 1 bedroom 1 bath cottage that I rent out in San Diego. She is a nice 61 year old lady living alone on a fixed income. She had identified some problems and I wanted to get these repairs completed as quickly as possible. Unfortunately, my tenant reported that the first handyman I sent was rude and doing shoddy work at a leisurely pace. I stopped the work and then found Thomas Simko the Problem Solver on Angie's List searching for "Handyman."

When I spoke with Thomas on the phone, he was extremely friendly and professional. He sent out one of his team, Jimmy, to take care of re-doing some shoddy repairs, completing additional repairs, and removing a lot of debris from the yard. My tenant was very impressed with Jimmy's professionalism, work ethic, qualify, and his efforts to clearly explain to her what he was doing to complete the work the right way.

I will DEFINITELY use The Problem Solver again! You should too!

— Jason Brandt, December 2015


Thank you for the excellent performance by your team in refurbishing condo #174 in Mission Ridge. Your team not only tackled the job quickly and completed the work in a timely manner, but also suggested and implemented improvements to the original plan—all within the originally agreed to cost! Outstanding service! And, the team was great to work with—very prompt, professional and highly competent. Our thanks, again!

— Jon and Karen Reynolds, August 2015


I am writing this to relay the experience I had utilizing Thomas Simko's services. I am a Realtor in San Diego and have had the need in past years to use a general contractor several times to recondition a property to make it ready for sale. I am the listing broker for a seller who has a condo in the Mission Ridge complex located in Mission Valley. The unit was in a state of deferred maintenance and required a complete rehab.

Mr. Simko was tasked with removing and replacing all flooring, drywall repairs, re-texture and re-paint the entire interior, plumbing, electrical and fireplace repairs that required several sub-contractors to complete the work. It is critical in my business that you employ people who can do the work rapidly, on time and get it right the first time. I am very pleased that Mr. Simko was able to accomplish all of these requirements. It is also important that the work gets done rapidly so I can get it to market fast. Thomas was able to complete all of the work and coordinate the sub-contractors in a very efficient manner and was able to complete the entire job in less than 7 business days.

If you're in need of a contractor who does what he says, on time and correctly, then Thomas Simko's company The Problem Solvers would be an excellent choice.

— Mark Lemieux, Keller Williams Realty, August 2015


I cannot say enough about the quick response from the owner, Thomas Simko and Dave who came out to see what needed to be done. Thomas was extremely thorough in providing an estimate, not only via email but a hard copy was also provided. Throughout the re-do, Thomas continued to provide me with materials and labor costs so I knew exactly where we were at each step of the way. I was originally looking at a start/completion date towards the end of July, but due to circumstances, called Thomas on a Friday afternoon, asking if they could start right away. The following Monday morning, they appeared on my door step bright and early ready to work. They assessed the situation, and provided suggestions (which I accepted readily) regarding the replacement of the entire backyard fencing and two gates.

They suggested smaller width boards which gave a cleaner, neater look to the fence, made the fencing higher which provided more privacy and would keep my dogs from jumping over, reworked the fence levels to accommodate the hillside slope, totally built new gates with supports to prevent sagging issues. They also replaced part of two eaves in the front of the house and performed a few other tasks as well. A tree in the yard was next to the fencing, so they built around it and the end result is beautiful wood work and a happy, safe tree.

The entire project was completed in 6 days and what a project it was. Words cannot express how very happy I am with all the work that was performed, and the end result of the new fencing/gates and eaves.

I would definitely rehire this company without thinking twice. Such a wonderful experience, and one that I have shared with others.

— Roberta Sullivan, July 2015


The crew showed up as scheduled, conducted a thorough washing of all surfaces and cleaning up the house. The two member crew the next day cleaning up the surface, scraping, priming, and sanding all areas of the house. They were very thorough and still accomplished the work in one day. The last day and a half was painting the main body of the house and trim. The work was done very well, I have received numerous compliments from the neighbors and now they feel compelled to paint their houses to look as good as mine.

The work was not easy as the house hadn't been painted in over a decade and had a lot of issues that come with neglected paint and they worked through them in a timely manner and kept to the schedule we had originally agreed upon. I have been using "The Problem Solver" for about 8 years now and and totally trust them with any repairs or remodels on my home.

— Alexander Paquet, July 2015


Owner Thomas responsive to my calls and questions. He sent an excellent person, Jimmie, to build a gate and fence. Wood picked was high quality, Jimmie knowledgeable, courteous, and friendly. Cleaned up nicely. Awkward space for him to build in but smart construction know how.

— Angie’s List Review, September 2014


It was a warm and wonderful experience working with Thomas Simko, and he really lived up to his name, the Problem Solver. We had only two weeks to complete an extensive list of projects on our new condo before our move-in date, including installing a beautiful new floor, replacing several bathroom fixtures, and a full bathroom remodel. Thomas was there for us 100% from start to finish, and made us feel like everything was "no problem." The HOA hasn't approved our floor install yet? No problem. We need to shut the water off for the entire building to install the tub? No problem. Uh-oh, last-minute change of plan on the flooring underlayment, 24 hours before we install? No problem! Thomas handled it with finesse, and was always extremely responsive via phone or email, as well as providing proactive updates with pictures.

In addition to his attention to logistics and reassuring professionalism, the workmanship of Thomas and his amazing team was top-notch. They will take the time to get it done right, even on a tight time frame like ours. The crew joked that it felt like one of those home improvement TV shows where they install an entire kitchen in five hours because of how quickly we needed to get things accomplished - yet all the I's were dotted and the T's were crossed. The crew was scrupulously clean, friendly and professional, showed up on time, and took excellent care of our home and pets. They even attended to those little "extra details" that weren't in the quote, because when they do something, they get it done right (for example, the new floor was a little higher than the old, and our hall closet door didn't shut as a result - no problem. The crew made adjustments to the track, and now it works better than before!)

The end result was a beautiful designer bathroom, gleaming laminate floors that we will enjoy for years to come, a huge reduction in the "honey-do" list that comes with moving into a new place, and more projects in the pipeline for the future. I'd definitely recommend working with Thomas Simko - it was a great experience. Thomas will make it happen! We will definitely work with him again in the future.

— Yelp Review (5 stars) from Amy B., August 2014


Thomas came into our horribly dated, 70’s condo and within three months transformed it into a beautiful mini-mansion. When hiring Thomas, you get much more than just a contractor. Thomas is an artistic visionary with excellent taste and wonderful ideas. We strongly recommend Thomas if you want a spectacular home put together by a gifted perfectionist. In addition, Thomas has many fine craftsmen subcontractors to rely on for specialized treatments.

— Dennis & Barbara O’Neill


Thomas and his crew did a great job. His keen eye for details and perfectionist leanings left us with a final product that we love. Had we known how much the new windows would improve sound attenuation and the draftiness of our house, we would have done it years ago. His entire team was professional, courteous and skilled at what they do. Thomas made numerous suggestions that turned out to provide a wonderful remodeling of the front of our house. The overall experience was extremely positive and we currently have him doing an even larger renovation of our rental house as we prepare to market it.

— Angie’s List Review, June 2014


We found him to be most responsive, able to begin the work right away. The hood replacement turned out to be much more complex than initially thought, due to some non-standard construction performed by the previous owner of our house. Thomas kept the project on budget and on time despite several unforeseen challenges, overcoming the problems with creativity and diligence. We were extremely pleased with the end result and have had him perform several more projects for us since.

— Angie’s List Review, May 2014


Thomas came in and did an excellent job, again. His whole team was punctual, efficient, and did outstanding work. I had the baseboards, transitions and threshold installed for the living room floor, the casing around the entry door, the sliding glass and dining room window as well as a few doors in the hallway. On the exterior of the house, he repaired the stucco around my circuit breaker box and replaced the broken water pipe for my house. The whole time he was courteous, efficient and did excellent work. I am very happy with the work I received and will use him again when I do my remodel next year.

— Angie’s List Review, April 2014


Outstanding in every way! Thomas and his team were responsive, professional and creative. Their estimates were spot on and they performed their work with utmost integrity. I would strongly recommend their services to anyone, but I think homeowners in Kensington and similar communities would especially benefit from the special care and creativity they apply to older craftsman and Spanish-style homes like ours.

— Angie’s List Review, March 2014